Thailand-Hus  Chaam Property
booked.net
+23
°
C
+25°
+22°
Cha-Am
Monday, 02
See 7-Day Forecast

Weltrekord Süßwasserfische

Villa in  chaam

Cha-Am Thailand

 

Fish whopper:
646 pounds freshwater record

Forscher verweisen auf den Haken, um die Gefahren des Aussterbens zu betonen.
MSNBC aktualisiert: 16:01 ET 1. Juli 2005

RIESENWELS IN THAILAND        Mekong river
Dieser Mekong-Riesenwels wurde von Forschern, die an einem Projekt zur Identifizierung von
studiere und konserviere große Süßwasserfische auf der ganzen Welt.

Big photo  1800 x 1200

 

Thai Forschern, die den 64 kg schweren Mekong-Riesenwels im Rahmen eines Projekts zum Schutz großer Süßwasserfische untersuchten, setzten thailändische Fischer einen Wels, der so groß wie ein Grizzlybär war, auf einen Weltrekord für den größten jemals gefundenen Süßwasserfisch.
"Es ist erstaunlich zu glauben, dass Riesen wie diese immer noch in einigen Flüssen der Welt schwimmen", sagte der Projektleiter Zeb Hogan in einer Erklärung. "Wir haben jetzt bestätigt, dass dieser Wels der aktuelle Rekordhalter ist, ein erstaunlicher Fund."

 

 

Andere haben behauptet, größere Störe gefunden zu haben, aber die International Game Fishing Association sagt, dass der größte Stör, der je registriert wurde, 468 Pfund ist. Dieser Fisch hat auch den Rekord für den größten gefangenen Süßwasserfisch gehalten.

 

"Ich bin begeistert, dass wir einen neuen Rekord aufgestellt haben, aber wir müssen diese Entdeckung in den Kontext stellen: Diese Riesenfische sind gleichmäßig schlecht untersucht und einige sind vom Aussterben bedroht", fügte Hogan, ein Mitglied des World Wildlife Fund, hinzu arbeitet mit der National Geographic Society zusammen. "Einige, wie der Mekong-Riesenwels, sind vom Aussterben bedroht.

"Größte Fischart verschwindet"

Hogan sagte, seine Studie über riesige Süßwasserfische zeige ein klares und globales Muster: Die größten Fischarten verschwinden.

Weltrekord Süßwasserfische

"Die Herausforderung ist klar", fügte er hinzu, "wir müssen Methoden finden, um diese Arten und ihre Lebensräume zu schützen. Indem wir jetzt handeln, können wir Tiere wie den Mekong-Riesenwels vor dem Aussterben bewahren."

 

Zu Hogans Projekt gehören zwei Dutzend andere Arten, darunter der Riesen-Süßwasser-Rochen, der hundefressende Wels, der dinosaurierähnliche Arapaima und der chinesische Paddelfish, "die alle immer noch Anwärter auf den Titel des größten Fisches der Welt sind", erklärten die Forscher , bis die endgültigen Ergebnisse ihrer Arbeit vorliegen.
"Lange Aufnahmen für den Titel beinhalten kaviarproduzierenden Stör, Goliath-Amazonas-Wels, riesigen Lungenfisch, gestochen scharfe Gurke, massive Dorsche und mongolischen Lachs", fügten sie hinzu.

Gefangennahme nicht überlebt

Der Mekong-Riesenwels wurde in einem abgelegenen Dorf in Thailand am Mekong gefangen und gefressen, in dem mehr Arten von Riesenfischen leben als in jedem anderen Fluss der Welt.

 

Lokale Umweltschützer und Regierungsbeamte hatten verhandelt, den Fisch freizulassen, damit er seine Laichwanderung im hohen Norden Thailands nahe der Grenzen von Thailand, Laos, Myanmar und China fortsetzen konnte. Der erwachsene Mann starb jedoch später. Die Forscher sagten, dass der Mekong-Riesenwels aufgrund der Zerstörung des Lebensraums und der vorgelagerten Dämme als Spezies abnimmt. Das Mekong-Becken beheimatet mehr Arten von massiven Fischen als jeder andere Fluss auf der Erde, und Mekong-Fische sind die Hauptproteinquelle für die 73 Millionen Menschen, die entlang des Flusses leben.

Weltrekord Süßwasserfische

Nützliche Links Thailand Mehr als 500 Links und Informationen zu Thailand

CLICK HERE

Copyrights - 2020 - Chaam.org

Cha-Am Property

Thailand

booked.net

HOME

Buy a House
Houses for Sale
Houses for Rent
Buy a Property ?
Thai measure
Lawyer in Thailand
Service
Contact
Links
Cha-am Links
Transport
Cha-Am Hua Hin
About Cha-Am

Phetchaburi

Cha-Am  Hua Hin
Intro to HUA HIN
Info about Thailand
Funeral
in Thailand
Dentist
Festival
Official
agencies and ministries
Embassies
Holidays
Valuta
Do and Do Not
Weather
Information
History
Thai Maps
What to see
Golf
Bats near Cha-Am
Religion
World record freshwater fish
Site Map


 

Search in
 our pages

 

Bangkok <-185 km ->  Cha-Am    <-28 km -> Hua Hin

World record freshwater fish

Fish whopper:
646 pounds freshwater record

Researchers cite Thai catch to stress extinction dangers.
MSNBC Updated: 4:01 p.m. ET July 1, 2005

IMAGE: GIANT CATFISH IN THAILAND       
This Mekong giant catfish was weighed at 646 pounds by researchers working on a project to identify,
study and conserve large freshwater fish around the world. Big photo  1800 x 1200

Thai fishermen netted a catfish as big as a grizzly bear, setting a world record for the largest freshwater fish ever found, according to researchers who studied the 646-pound Mekong giant catfish as part of a project to protect large freshwater fish.

“It’s amazing to think that giants like this still swim in some of the world’s rivers,” project leader Zeb Hogan project leader said in a statement. “We’ve now confirmed now that this catfish is the current record holder, an astonishing find.”

 

Others have made claims of finding larger sturgeon, but the International Game Fishing Association says the largest sturgeon on record is 468 pounds. That fish has also held the record for largest freshwater fish caught.

 

“I’m thrilled that we’ve set a new record, but we need to put this discovery in context: these giant fish are uniformly poorly studied and some are critically endangered," added Hogan, a fellow with the World Wildlife Fund, which is partnering with the National Geographic Society. "Some, like the Mekong giant catfish, face extinction.

  'Largest fish species disappearing'

Hogan said his study of giant freshwater fish "is showing a clear and global pattern: the largest fish species are disappearing. 

"The challenge is clear," he added, "we must find methods to protect these species and their habitats.  By acting now, we can save animals like the Mekong giant catfish from extinction.

 
Hogan's project includes two-dozen other species, including the giant freshwater stingray, the dog-eating catfish, the dinosaur-like arapaima, and the Chinese paddlefish "all of which remain contenders for the title of the worlds largest fish," the researchers stated, pending the final results of their work.

 "Long shots for the title include caviar-producing sturgeon, goliath Amazon catfish, giant lungfish, razor-toothed gars, massive cods, and Mongolian salmon," they added.

Didn't survive capture

The Mekong giant catfish was caught and eaten in a remote village in Thailand along the Mekong River, home to more species of giant fish than any other river in the world, the researchers said.

Local environmentalists and government officials had negotiated to release the fish so it could continue its spawning migration in the far north of Thailand, near the borders of Thailand, Laos, Myanmar and China, but the adult male later died.  The researchers said the Mekong giant catfish is declining as a species due to habitat destruction and upstream dams. The Mekong River Basin is home to more species of massive fish than any river on Earth, they added, and Mekong fish are the primary source of protein for the 73 million people that live along the river.